9 photos for 9 years


Sigh…today is the day…the day my baby turns 9.  I think her age milestones hurt me more than my own!  She’s not my baby any more, she’s my 9 year old.  A 9 year old who is getting into so many things and loving her own things.

She has always been intrigued with women in history and biographies of women.  For her 6th birthday she asked for biographies of Helen Keller and Amelia Earhart.  We love the fact that she looks up to these strong, amazing women in history!

When I saw the project that Jaime Moore posted, I got inspired (a super duper huge thank you to Sue Miles for showing me this blog and set my wheels turning!!)!  Why can’t we do 9 heroines for her 9th birthday?  So we did!!  I asked Alexandra to chose 9 strong women that she looks up to from history and this is who she chose and the quotes are directly from Alexandra and why she chose each woman.

“I am really interested in Helen Keller and I am amazed on how she was blind and deaf and went to college.  And she wrote so many stories and poems!”

(for the record, this is my FAVORITE photo)

01-helen-copy“I am really interested in Amelia Earhart and this is the first biography I ever read.  It sounds really neat to me how she did stuff that not many other women would be willing to do at that time!”

02-amelia-copy“Coco Chanel was really cool!  I like the way she took men’s clothes and changed them into women’s – it’s so cool!”

03-coco“I love Breakfast At Tiffany’s!  She’s a funny character and she’s right – Tiffany’s IS the happiest place on Earth!”

04-holly-copy“Mary Poppins is really funny!  Julie Andrews has a great singing voice…and I wish I had her tape measure!  🙂 ”

05-julie-mary-copy“I don’t know much about Marie Curie…yet!  I really like science.  I think it’s cool that she was the first female professor at the University of Paris!”

06-Marie_Curie-copy“I love gymnastics!  I like her smile!  It’s cool that she won the gold at the Olympics!”

07-mary-lou-copy“Taylor Swift has an AMAZING voice and I have all four of her albums!  I am a super huge fan!”

08-taylor-copy“I chose myself because I like ME!  🙂  Oh, and BTW, I’m turning 9!  😉 ”

(and for the record, she wanted to be photographed as she is every day…messy hair, favorite dress, and just the way she is.  Gotta love it!)

09-alexandra-copyHappy Birthday Alexandra!  I think you gave our readers a gift for your birthday!!  XOXO


88 thoughts on “9 photos for 9 years

  1. This is such a wonderful idea!! What a smart young woman you have there–she picked quite a few of my favorite role models too =) and the photos are beautiful.

  2. This is one of the best photo essays I have ever seen! Wonderful! I am very impressed by the choices your daughter made, and I especially love the last photo of her just being her! You have raised her right — intelligent, independent, and an individual! Great job and happy belated birthday Alexandra!

  3. What a cool momento to mark her birthday! And, WOW, you just gave me a fabulous idea to do for my own 50th bday coming UP on 4th of July…2 thumbs UP on your being F.P.’ed!

  4. This is awesome! I’ve recently started something called 1 Second Everyday, where you take a 1 second video everyday (for the rest of your life…). Just wanted to share another medium of developing the awesome things you do 🙂

  5. Excellent! She has an excellent taste in role models, although I would suggest avoiding radioactive elements without proper protection 🙂

  6. This is so cool! I like the pictures and the fact that she looked up at some of the finest women in history (Marie Curie and Hellen Keller). Wish you and Alexandra the best in everything. 🙂 🙂

  7. aw, this is a super cool birthday present, i used to make photographs collection of my niece when she turned 15, but, you won so much far. Cool. i wish i had one 🙂

  8. I think it’s fantastic that your daughter likes to learn about such strong women in our history. My favorite photo is definitely your daughter as Helen Keller. I was always amazed with Helen’s story and accomplishments as well. I wanted to learn American Sign Language because of reading about Helen Keller. Julie Andrews, especially as Mary Poppins, is a great choice as well. And something not many people know…Madame Curie designed the original science lab in my old high school! (Owen D. Young in VanHornesville, NY). I think of all of your daughter’s choices, her last tells the most about her. Whatever she ends up doing in life, she seems like a confident girl who will most likely pave the way for generations of girls to follow!

  9. This is brilliant. My second graders this year were fascinated by Helen Keller. You’ve given me an idea for the future, having my students dress as someone they admire and taking photographs for their families.

  10. Wow, your daughter is impressive! I love that she chose herself in the end. You must be doing a great job of nurturing her self-confidence. Awesome pics! 🙂

  11. What a precious record! I love that your daughter is interested in so many strong women from such varied fields….inspiring!

  12. ~ Priceless, wonderful photos. That would make a lovable compilation until she gets to be 18! Photo shoot every year would be nice! Congrats on being FP! (: – Bliss, The Lurker’s List

  13. That’s a really cute idea. When I was her age, I was a Helen Keller encyclopedia. There is actual video on YouTube of Keller speaking as Anne Sullivan explains how she learned to make different sounds.
    She also, quite literally, read lips; she put her hands on someone’s mouth, felt the shape of the words, and read from their very lips what they said to her.
    She and Sullivan were both fascinating women.

  14. I cannot love this enough. I am so happy to have found you on freshly pressed. This is awesome. Happy birthday Alexandra — I am going to show this to my ten year old son who is also a historical figure freak.

      1. Maybe. My sons are 14, 16, 18 and 20 so they are a bit older and boys to boot. But I am certain you must have a wonderful relationship with your daughter. It shines through in your work.

  15. Reading this stuff and scrolling down the photos -made me feel so beautiful…and the last one when she said to chose herself was the best part…such a small age and such a great thought

  16. I liked all the photos and was intrigued to read which women she had picked. I love the fact that she picked herself, and that she wanted a picture that captured herself just as she was.

    I also think that perhaps she could’ve picked you as one, too, because it appears that you are doing a really great job as a mum.

  17. This made me tear up a little. I’m so glad there are little girls out there who want to grow up to be a strong, intelligent woman. She must have a wonderful mother who’s leading her in the right direction.

  18. Brilliant idea! She seems really inspired at the tender age of 9.

    Marie Curie was the first female to win a Nobel prize too and found the great substance of radium, which now saves many lives affected by cancer. Great woman to aspire to.

  19. What a great idea! Love this! You have a beautiful and bright daughter and I can see you are so proud of her! What a gift! You are an awesome mom. Happy Birthday to a sweet smart and obviously much loved beautiful young lady.

  20. Clever, fantastic, wonderful! Love this, so creative and clearly you have a great relationship with your 9-year old! Good for you for fanning her interest in strong women.

Leave a comment