Lightning Storm over Old Lyme


I always say that I am not a nature photographer – it’s not my style.  I can’t see waiting and waiting for that shot…or hiking 5 miles before sunset just to see the sun set over a ridge.  Not my style!

But lately, I’ve been dabbling outside my comfort zone…like tonight.

I propped open the screen door to the porch of our beach house and waited…patiently.  OK, so not too patiently…my neck hurt from staring at the sky, I was listening to my 8 year old pace and freak out, and my back was hurting from standing.

So yes, that’s my door in the middle of the shot!  But I think it adds to the above shot, right?  Makes it look like I caused the explosion (or I like to think so!)!!

I like this last one!

I’ll probably never do this again, but it was sort of cool to get the shots!

What have you done to step outside your comfort zone?


Leave a Reply

